SITE ARCHEOLOGIQUE DE CAMBOUS

The archaeological site of Cambous contains the ruins of a prehistoric village which is probably the oldest village that it is possible to visit in France.

The Cambous site sheds light on a pivotal period in our history. At the end of prehistoric times, a profound change took place, with the transition from a way of life based on hunting and gathering to agriculture and livestock breeding.

These new agro-pastoral activities led to a sedentary lifestyle which was accompanied by numerous technical innovations. This is the story of the village of Cambous and it is also the story of the Grand Pic Saint-Loup.

The site of Cambous is also remarkable for its state of preservation.

Built of stone, unlike most of the buildings of the time made of wood, it is considered to be one of the oldest villages in France still visible. It has been fitted out to receive visitors, with in particular the reconstruction of a dwelling of the period, and is also a laboratory for archaeological studies and excavations.

It specialises in experimental archaeology, which consists of reproducing prehistoric gestures and know-how to better understand their evolution.

During the "Faîtes de la préhistoire" event (in May), the European Archaeology Days (in June) and the European Heritage Days (in September), numerous activities are presented to the public, who are then invited to take part in them on these days, which are entirely free.

It dates from the Chalcolithic (or Copper Age), a period between 2700 and 2300 BC. During these four centuries, a brilliant culture flourished, known as Fontbouisse, which owes its name to a site in the Sommières region (Gard) where similar remains were studied in the 1940s.

In the Garrigues (regions of limestone hills where garrigue grows) of the Gard, Hérault and Ardèche, the Fontbouisse people are the authors of countless dolmens and villages with stone houses. There are more than two hundred hamlets of this type, but barely 20% have been studied by archaeologists. There is still a lot of work to be done and the site of Cambous is there to testify to the interest of the research carried out in these regions.

SITE ARCHEOLOGIQUE DE CAMBOUS

Its remarkable state of preservation is due to its construction technique: unlike the Neolithic houses built in most regions of France, Cambous was not built in clay and wood, perishable materials, but in dry stone.

Four groups of eight to ten huts each were uncovered in 1967. The dwellings, which are contiguous, have thick stone and lauze walls in an elongated plan with apsed ends: this architecture is typical of the Fontbouisse populations.

A dwelling, with a thatched roof, has been reconstructed on the periphery of the site.

Here, and nowhere else, a fossilised territory has survived almost five millennia to offer itself to the ever astonished gaze of the researcher or visitor.

Cambous
08 december
Cambous - 2

Informations pratiques

To come by bus to the Prehistoric Village of Cambous : line 608, get off at the "Mairie" stop, 850 m on foot.

Accessibility : the path through the scrubland is difficult for people with reduced mobility.

En savoir plus

Cambous - 1
Your consent
This site uses cookies (or tracers) when you browse. Your explicit consent is required for their use. Click here to find out more
This site and related services may place cookies * (or trackers) on your computer.
They are not installed by default.

Online video distribution platforms (Youtube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, etc.) may place cookies intended for statistical and marketing monitoring of your consultations. Refer to their respective privacy policies for more information.
The refusal of these cookies will not affect their consultation on the current site.

This site is subject to audience measurement via the Google Analytics platform. See the Google Analytics privacy policy for more information.
Refusing these cookies will not affect your user experience on the current site.

Social networks (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor, etc.) may deposit cookies intended for statistical and marketing monitoring of your link sharing. Refer to their respective privacy policies for more information.
The refusal of these cookies will not affect your visit to the current site, but will prevent you from sharing the content of this site on your respective networks.

* a cookie is a small file stored by a server in the terminal (computer, telephone, etc.) of a user and associated with a web domain (i.e. in most cases to all the pages of 'same website). This file is automatically returned on subsequent contacts with the same domain.

SITE ARCHEOLOGIQUE DE CAMBOUS

Le site archéologique de Cambous héberge les ruines d’un village préhistorique qui est sans doute le plus vieux village qu’il soit possible de visiter en France.

Le site de Cambous nous éclaire sur une époque charnière de notre histoire. À la fin de la préhistoire, une mutation profonde s’engage, avec le passage d’un mode de vie basé sur la chasse et la cueillette, au profit de l’agriculture et de l’élevage.

Ces nouvelles activités agro-pastorales amèneront une sédentarisation qui s’accompagnera de nombreuses innovations techniques. C’est cette histoire que raconte le village de Cambous et c’est aussi un peu l’histoire du Grand Pic Saint-Loup.

Le site de Cambous est également remarquable par son état de conservation.

Construit en pierres, contrairement à la majeure partie des constructions de l’époque faites en bois, il est considéré comme un des plus anciens villages de France encore visible. Aménagé pour recevoir les visiteurs, avec notamment la reconstitution d’une habitation de l’époque, c’est aussi un laboratoire d’études et de fouilles archéologiques.

Il est spécialisé en archéologie expérimentale, qui consiste à reproduire les gestes et savoir-faire préhistoriques pour mieux en comprendre l’évolution.

Lors de la manifestation « Faîtes de la préhistoire » (en mai), des journées européennes de l’archéologie (en juin) et des journées européennes du patrimoine (en septembre), de nombreuses activités sont présentées au public, lequel est alors invité à y participer lors de ces journées entièrement gratuites.

Il date du Chalcolithique (ou âge du cuivre), une période comprise entre 2700 et 2300 avant notre ère. Durant ces quatre siècles va s’épanouir une brillante culture, dite de Fontbouisse, qui doit son nom à un site de la région de Sommières (Gard) où des vestiges assez semblables ont été étudiés dans les années 40.

Dans les Garrigues (régions de collines calcaires où pousse la garrigue) du Gard, de l’Hérault et de l’Ardèche le peuple de Fontbouisse est l’auteur d’innombrables dolmens et villages à maisons de pierres. On compte plus de deux cents hameaux de ce type, mais à peine 20% ont été étudiés par les archéologues. Il reste beaucoup de travail et le site de Cambous est là pour témoigner de l’intérêt des recherches menées dans ces régions.

SITE ARCHEOLOGIQUE DE CAMBOUS

Son remarquable état de conservation tient à sa technique de construction : car contrairement aux maisons néolithiques construites dans la plupart des régions de France, Cambous n’est pas conçu en argile et en bois, matériaux périssables, mais en pierre sèche.


Quatre groupes de huit à dix cabanes chacun ont été mis au jour à partir de 1967. Les habitations, contigües, ont d’épais murs de pierres et de lauzes selon un plan allongé à extrémités en abside : cette architecture est typique des populations de Fontbouisse.

Une habitation, avec un toit de lauze et de chaume, a été reconstituée à la périphérie du site.

Ici, et nulle part ailleurs, un territoire fossilisé a traversé presque cinq millénaires pour s’offrir au regard toujours étonné du chercheur ou du visiteur.

Cambous
26 novembre
Cambous - 2

Informations pratiques

Pour venir en bus au Village Préhistorique de Cambous :  ligne 608 , descendre à l'arrêt "Mairie",  850 m à parcourir à pied.

 

Accessibilité : le cheminement à travers la garrigue est délicat pour les personnes à mobilité réduite.

En savoir plus

Cambous - 1
Votre consentement
Ce site recours à l'utilisation de cookies (ou traceurs) lors de votre navigation. Votre consentement explicite est nécessaire à leur utilisation. cliquez ici pour en savoir plus
Ce site et les services liés sont susceptibles de déposer des cookies* (ou traceurs) sur votre ordinateur.
Ils ne sont pas installés par défaut.

Les plateformes de diffusion de vidéos en ligne (Youtube, Vimeo, Dailymotion...) peuvent déposer des cookies destinés au suivi statistique et marketing de vos consultations. Reportez-vous à leurs politiques de confidentialités respectives pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas leur consultation sur le site actuel.

Ce site fait l'objet de mesure d'audience via la plateforme Google Analytics. Reportez-vous à la politique de confidentialité de Google Analytics pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas votre expérience utilisateur sur le site actuel.

Les réseaux sociaux (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Trip Advisor...) peuvent déposer des cookies destinés au suivi statistique et marketing de vos partages de liens. Reportez-vous à leurs politiques de confidentialités respectives pour en savoir plus.
Le refus de ces cookies n'altérera pas la consultation du site actuel, mais vous empêchera de partager le contenu de ce site sur vos réseaux respectifs.

* un cookie est un petit fichier stocké par un serveur dans le terminal (ordinateur, téléphone, etc.) d’un utilisateur et associé à un domaine web (c’est à dire dans la majorité des cas à l’ensemble des pages d’un même site web). Ce fichier est automatiquement renvoyé lors de contacts ultérieurs avec le même domaine.